Born in Antwerp in 1929, Jacques Zimmermann moved quickly with his family to Brussels. It was there that he discovered the Flemish and Dutch landscapers. He began his studies as a draughtsman at the Institut Saint-Luc in Brussels.

After the war, in 1951, he began to exhibit at Philippe-Edouard Toussaint’s Saint-Laurent bookstore-gallery, where many young innovative artists meet (Léopold Plomteux, Jo Delahaut, Jean Milo, Camiel Van Breedaem, Jacques Lacomblez, Marie Carlier, etc.), until he responds to a small announcement for a tour of puppeteers in the Belgian Congo where his wife will accompany him. He then became a theatre designer and puppeteer.

This one-year stay in Africa (1955 – 1956) will mark the work of Jacques Zimmermann, less by the encounter with African art than by the exuberant nature that he discovers during the tour, and which will remain a recurring source of inspiration («Jacques Zimmermann», Éditions Syllepse).

In 1957, he joined the “Phases” movement, founded in Paris by Edouard Jaguer in 1952 – 1953, which adopted the ethics of surrealism. From the beginning, Zim’s artistic work was nourished by the magical realism of Chirico’s perpectives.

From 1956 to 1994, he was appointed professor of composition in drawing at the Institut of Saint-Luc in Brussels.

During the 1960s and 1970s, he led a triple career as a painter, teacher of drawing and puppeteer. The weight of this triple activity is one of the reasons for the almost total interruption of his career as a painter between 1974 and 1979.

It is however at this moment that abstraction gives way to a dreamlike figuration where ambiguous beings dominate, barely trimmed from their abstract soil, half-insects, half-theatrical characters. Next to the painted works are works with felt tips, large black and white drawings in which Jacques Zimmermann integrates the influence of Albrecht Dürer’s drawings.

In the 1980s, he exhibited mainly at the International Art Gallery in Lasnes. In 1990, he participated in the exhibition «Phases -Belgique», in Mons, alongside the former collaborators of the magazine Edda.

His career as a painter gradually took over, as his career as a puppeteer came to an end, and then, in 1994, as a teacher. Jacques Zimmermann also creates wood and metal assemblies, strongly inspired by African art of which he is a great collector. His painting blends admirably with this type of art.

In 1996, a retrospective of his work was organized at the Schaerbeek municipal house (Jacques Zimmermann, Itinéraires, Catalogue d’exposition).

In 2001, he was elected Member of the Royal Academy of Fine Art of Belgium.

In 2014, he was the recipient of the Gaston Bertrand Prize, rewarding «a Belgian painter of at least 45 years, having his own approach and means invented by him, to make visible his inner world». On this occasion, a major retrospective is held at the Centre d’art du Rouge-Cloître («Jacques Zimmermann – Laureate of the Gaston Bertrand Prize»).

He likes to explore a powerfully dreamlike world that is situated at the crossroads of invented forms and imaginary landscape. His paintings are composed of plant and mineral sensations, sometimes bathed by a glowing sun or the cold glows of the northern lights.
Today, more than 90 years old, Zim continues to paint!

Works in the collections of: Musée des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, Musée des Beaux-Arts de Mons, Crédit Communal de Bruxelles, Banque Bruxelles-Lambert, Belgian State, Royal Museum of Mariemont, Province of Hainaut, Université libre de Bruxelles.

Né à Anvers en 1929, Jacques Zimmermann s’installera rapidement avec sa famille à Bruxelles. C’est là qu’il découvre les paysagistes flamands et hollandais. Il entame des études de dessinateur à l’Institut Saint-Luc de Bruxelles.

 

Après la guerre, en 1951, il commence à exposer à la librairie-galerie Saint-Laurent de Philippe-Edouard Toussaint, où se retrouvent de nombreux jeunes artistes novateurs (Léopold Plomteux, Jo Delahaut, Jean Milo, Camiel Van Breedaem, Jacques Lacomblez, Marie Carlier, etc…), jusqu’à ce qu’il réponde à une petite annonce pour une tournée de marionnettistes au Congo belge où son épouse va l’accompagner. Il sera alors décorateur de théâtre et marionnettiste.

Ce séjour d’un an en Afrique (1955 – 1956) va marquer l’œuvre de Jacques Zimmermann, moins par la rencontre avec l’art africain que par la nature exubérante qu’il découvre au gré de la tournée, et qui restera une source récurrente d’inspiration (« Jacques Zimmermann », Éditions Syllepse).

 

Il adhère, en 1957 au mouvement «  Phases », fondé à Paris par Edouard Jaguer en 1952 – 1953, qui adopte l’éthique du surréalisme. Dès le départ, l’œuvre artistique de Zim a été nourrie par le réalisme magique des perpectives de Chirico.

De 1956 à 1994, il est nommé professeur de composition en dessin à l’Institut Saint-Luc à Bruxelles.

 

Durant les années 1960 et 1970, il mène une triple carrière de peintre, professeur de dessin et marionnettiste. Le poids de cette triple activité est l’une des raisons de l’interruption presque totale de sa carrière de peintre entre 1974 et 1979.

 

C’est pourtant à ce moment que l’abstraction cède le pas à une figuration onirique où dominent des êtres ambigus, à peine dégrossis de leur terreau abstrait, mi-insectes, mi-personnages théâtraux. À côté d’œuvres peintes naissent des œuvres au feutre à essence, grands dessins noir et blanc où Jacques Zimmermann intègre l’influence des dessins d’Albrecht Dürer.

Dans les années 1980, il expose essentiellement à l’International Art Gallery de Lasnes. En 1990, il participe à l’exposition « Phases -Belgique », à Mons, aux côtés des anciens collaborateurs de la revue Edda.

Sa carrière de peintre prend peu à peu le dessus, alors que s’achève sa carrière de marionnettiste, puis, en 1994 , celle d’enseignant. Jacques Zimmermann réalise également des assemblages en bois et métal, fortement inspirés de l’art africain dont il est grand collectionneur. Sa peinture se marie d’ailleurs admirablement avec ce type d’art.

 

En 1996, une rétrospective de son œuvre est organisée à la maison communale de Schaerbeek (Jacques Zimmermann, Itinéraires, Catalogue d’exposition).

En 2001, il est élu Membre de l’Académie Royale des Beaux Art de Belgique.

 

En 2014, il est le récipiendaire du Prix Gaston Bertrand, récompensant « un peintre belge de 45 ans au moins, ayant sa démarche propre et ses moyens inventés par lui, pour rendre visible son monde intérieur ». À cette occasion a lieu une grande rétrospective au Centre d’art du Rouge-Cloître (« Jacques Zimmermann – Lauréat du Prix Gaston Bertrand »)

 

Il aime explorer un monde puissamment onirique qui se situe à la croisée des formes inventées et du paysage imaginaire. Ses tableaux se composent de sensations végétales et minérales, baignées parfois par un soleil rougeoyant ou les lueurs froides des aurores boréales.

Aujourd’hui, à plus de 90 ans, Zim continue à peindre !

 

Œuvres dans les collections de : Musée des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, musée des Beaux-Arts de Mons, Crédit Communal de Bruxelles, banque Bruxelles-Lambert, Etat belge, musée royal de Mariemont, Province du Hainaut, Université libre de Bruxelles.